1. Jobeykobra

Jobeykobra New Member

Does Anyone Check Dorm Rooms and Can Roommates Move to Other Rooms?

Discussion in 'Research' started by Jobeykobra, Jul 14, 2009.

I'm a college student myself, but I don't live in a dorm yet and the character in the novel I'm writing does. So I was wondering if people check the dorm rooms periodically(for drugs, pets, etc.) and if a roommate can just move to another room without filling any forms or letting the RA know and get away with it. It's probably different for many colleges, but a general consensus or different examples from some of you would be helpful. Thanks in advance.

2. RomanticRose

RomanticRose Active Member

They did when I was in the dorm. Of course that was several years ago at a private, religious-based college.

3. Agreen

Agreen Faceless Man Contributor

I guess it would depend on the school. Mine did not check on rooms at all. Certain things were banned on the floor and in rooms, but were only enforced if someone was foolish enough to display them in front of dorm security. Even then, beer in bottles (but not cans) was banned on floor but everyone brought six packs with them to the lounge during the NHL playoffs without recourse.

As for changing rooms/guests- you could have guests, but for no more than 7 total nights per term. You could not change rooms without going through the official process which included paperwork.

4. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

Dorm rooms cannot be searched without a search warrant, which required probable cause (in the USA).

As for swapping dorm rooms without permission, that can usually get youkicked out of dorm space, but some schools may be more inclined than others to turn the other way. The odds of getting caught are very high -- all it takes is one person with a grudge to abnonymously inform campus security or the college staff.

5. Rei

Rei Contributor Contributor