1. agglutinations

agglutinations New Member

Writing, self-discipline and self-doubt...

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by agglutinations, Aug 17, 2011.

I'm a pretty decent writer, I think, but I lack discipline, discipline and self-confidence. As soon as I start on something, I'm full of fire and energy -- then, as I get going, I start to question myswelf, and doubt. Before I know it, I'm questioning the viability of the entire project. After a few weeks, or months, I abandon the whole enterprise for something else, for a new topic, only to find myself entering the same cycle all over again...

Any advice on how to get the self-doubting machine to stop?

1 person likes this.
  2. Leah

Leah Member

THAT .. is a loaded question.

I know of what you speak. The hampster running around in my head has been threatened with certain death when my mind whirrs in that way.

Just like a break up or other difficult situations, take it one step at a time. Don't allow yourself to worry about the end of the project "will it be any good"? etc...

Worry about what you are writing in front of you at the time.

Maybe jot notes down about how awesome you feel at the start of the project and keep it handy.

Find somewhere that inspires you to write more than others and focus on that - or try somewhere new each time to shake it up.

You won't know what works for you until you try and break the pattern that you are in.

I, for one, have a difficult time finishing my projects - so I am changing my pattern (slowly, but surely). I now write at different times of days, in different formats and places and it seems to be helping me keep at it.

Good luck :)

1 person likes this.
  3. CH878

CH878 Active Member