1. koal4e

koal4e Member

Writing Style

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by koal4e, May 20, 2012.

Hi all,

Im a writer by trade, self employed to write the web content for websites and news for online news portals. Now I have turned to writing my own novel based on a fantasy style swords and all story in my head. The problem I am facing is the writing style of my novel.

I have so far only written 2,000 words, these are pretty much the precursor/brief history to the story just to outline the start of the novel. My concern is that while I feel my writing style is okay, I am worried about how much level of descrption needs to be incorporated, maybe I am overthinking but I feel that I may not be giving enough....then I worry I am putting too much.

Am I worrying too much, should I simply write my story and revisit once reading through my first draft for corrections?

Thanks for listening!

2. Youniquee

Youniquee (◡‿◡✿) Contributor

Yes. If you keep worrying, then nothing is going to get done! Write how you want to now, not minding if the description is to small or too much. Then in the editing process, you'll notice if you need more or less description and correct it. It's not going to be perfect in the first draft anyway so~ Just write.
    That's my advice on it.

I hope that helped.

3. jazzabel

jazzabel Contributing Member Contributor

All novels are works in progress. I suggest you simply keep writing. t he end of each chapter, look it over and see how it feels - is there not enough or too much description, does dialogue sound realistic, pacing, in short - is this something you'd like to read.
    There'll be a long time between starting and finishing the novel, in that time, you can fix it all in stages.

4. koal4e

koal4e Member

Thanks for your comments, Ill keep writing...it just felt that part of the opening seemed a little short in description, but as you say I can revisit later on :)

5. killbill

killbill Contributing Member