1. MsLee123

MsLee123 New Member

How far is too far in teen fiction?

Discussion in 'Children's & Young Adult' started by MsLee123, Jan 3, 2011.

I'm a young adult writer and have been for the last few years. Almost all of my stories revolve around young adults in high school (ages 16+). Say what you will, I've heard it all, my favorite being "young adult isn't real writing".

Anyway, back to my question. I recently edited a YA novel for another writing buddy of mine. She and I have similar writing styles, but I was a bit taken aback by the content. It was incredibly graphic in the sex and violence portions. I tend to agree with the concept of "If it's on TV it's okay to be in a book", but how far is too far? There's swearing and love and romance in all of my novels, teen drinking, occasional drug use, and some violence, but I try to be as specific as possible without being totally graphic and it's never written in an encouraging or "cool" manner. All of these situations and ideas are relevant to today's teens, but how far is too far?

2. PurpleCandle

PurpleCandle New Member

Have you considered that your friend is writing for a different audience than you are? Just because she is young adult, does not mean that whatever she writes is young adult or teenager intended.

3. Allegro Van Kiddo

Allegro Van Kiddo New Member

Purple has a good question.

The age group most likely to engage in destructive sex and violence is young people. Novels can be a kind of problem solving tool for people in that they read about characters like themselves, or the opposite, learn what kind of problems can arise from the behaviors in the book.