1. Maiesk

Maiesk Member

Transitioning from writing short stories to writing a novel

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Maiesk, Jun 3, 2014.

I'm in a bind as its my first attempt at a longer story. I've never had a problem keeping hold of a reader in a short piece because you can hit them with plot points and foreshadowing in a much smaller space. This slow-burn writing isn't coming easy, I feel like I need to get to the next explosion of interest as quickly as possible and my motivation suffers for it.

I've had a plot in mind for a long time, with many major plot-points organised in my head and the core of the story sorted, but how I fill the weeks/months/years between these moments is lost on me. I want my story to run from the protagonist being a child at school (when the idea that the world is not such a good place seeps in) to the moment he finally resolves his story when I estimate he would be in his late 20s.

So specifically: How do I go about stretching out these interesting parts and filling in the gaps between them without being boring or boring myself?

2. thirdwind

thirdwind Member Contest Administrator Reviewer Contributor

Read more novels. See how the great writers do it, and learn from them. Remember that short stories and novels are different. A novel isn't just a longer short story. There are often times more characters and more subplots in a novel. Reading and studying novels is the best way to see the difference for yourself.

3. peachalulu

peachalulu Member Reviewer Contributor