1. Foxe

Foxe Active Member

"I'm a writer" vs "I write"

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by Foxe, May 23, 2016.

When did you, or when will you take the leap of saying you're a writer instead of "I write", and if you haven't, what conditions do you have to meet before you call yourself a writer?

I've had many successes in writing like having articles published, putting on a play, and being a copywriter by profession... however I'm not a published novelist (haven't written one yet), nor have attempted to have my poetry published and for that reason, I am apprehensive to call myself or to be introduced as a writer.

What are your thoughts on the title 'writer'?

2. A.M.P.

A.M.P. People Buy My Books for the Bio Photo Contributor

I think if you do copywriting, plays, articles, then you're definitely a writer.
    If you publish lots of novels, you're an author.
    If you never sold anything, then you just "write".

3. GingerCoffee

GingerCoffee Web Surfer Girl Contributor

While I currently say, "I'm writing a novel" I don't think I have to sell it to call myself a writer. I suppose I do need to finish it. :p

People tend to say, "I'm [fill in the occupation you support yourself with]." But I'm getting close to retiring and I am becoming a writer as my second career. I don't see there is a magical rule defining when I cross the line from being a nurse practitioner to being a retired NP, now a writer. For me it's a gut feeling and I'm almost there.

4. Steerpike

Steerpike Felis amatus Contributor

If you write, you're a writer. Maybe not a professional one yet, but a writer.

5. No-Name Slob

No-Name Slob Member Supporter Contributor

I don't call myself a writer because I don't get paid to write ... yet. At least that's what I tell myself. I think the real reason is that I'm horribly insecure about writing. But hey, I take lots of photos but I don't call myself a photographer, so the logic is solid in my mind. :rolleyes:

Viridian likes this.
  6. Selbbin