1. Ben414

Ben414 Contributor Contributor

Your thought process in constructing sentences

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by Ben414, Jul 6, 2015.

I'm a dreadfully slow writer, and the biggest culprit is my inability to quickly construct sentences effectively. I know what I want to convey, but I struggle to quickly find the right sentence structure.

For example, I recently wrote: "His eyes were red and swollen." I also wanted to write that his stare was empty, but I struggled to find a good way to add it on. I tried: "His eyes were red and swollen, his stare empty"; "His eyes were red and swollen, and his stare was empty"; and "His eyes were red and swollen. His stare was empty." Too many minutes later, I finally found a sentence structure I liked: "His red and swollen eyes formed an empty stare."

How do you go about deciding how to structure your sentences? Does it occur naturally for you? If not, do you have any set techniques for finding the right structure? If you're someone who would skip it and come back to it later, how would you work on it then?

GingerCoffee likes this.
  2. BayView

BayView Huh. Interesting. Contributor

First draft, I just write it as it comes out. The next day, I review what I wrote the day before and catch the big glitches, and then the little stuff I try to catch later on in editing.

I'm not one of those "your first draft is always garbage" people, but I do believe your first draft is always a first draft. Get down the general idea, polish as it occurs to you, and focus on the big picture. That's my motto! (for right now)

3. ChickenFreak

ChickenFreak Contributor Contributor

I don't think about my sentences when I first draft them. I need at least a paragraph before and after the paragraph containing the sentence, often quite a bit more, before it makes any sense for me to tweak any of it. So I wouldn't pause over this puzzle for more than a moment; I would first-draft it as