1. erebh

erebh Banned Contributor

I hate poetry

Discussion in 'Discussion of Published Works' started by erebh, Sep 23, 2013.

I really don't like poetry unless it rhymes. There I said it...

Why is this? What don't I understand? What am I missing? As a writer I feel I should like it or at least appreciate it. Is it the crypticity? The double meanings? The dissection?

At school - which was a very macho all boy's school run by the Christian Brothers - poetry was looked at as if anybody who read it was gay and we scoffed. Teachers tore apart poems, "I wondered lonely as a cloud... Let's discuss exactly what Wordsworth could've meant..." We laughed, giggled into our hands at the boys who understood, who questioned, who answered.

Now some years later I try reading poetry but most of it either goes over my head or I just haven't the patience. I've tortured myself trying to read Seamus Heaney, and only because of his passport and how proud we are of his achievements but I just can't finish a poem - what am I missing? Is it just 'not my bag'? Does it say anything about me?

Who out there truly appreciates poetry?
    Does anybody think it's all meaningless, self-indulgent crap?

Last edited: Sep 23, 2013
  2. Andrae Smith

Andrae Smith Bestselling Author|Editor|Writing Coach Contributor