Tags:
  1. Fungimandias

Fungimandias New Member

Regarding Magic...

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Fungimandias, Sep 14, 2008.

Alright, I've decided to go through with writing my own Urban Fantasy story and have started to brainstorm some ideas for characters and map out how magic and the supernatural work in my world. Thing is, I'm a fairly inexperienced writer, so I'm not entirely sure how to go about explain how magic works and why the supernatural is the way it is in the context of the story. Does anyone have any advice on how I can illustrate the nuances of my world without slowing down the story or employing flimsy explanations?

2. lordofhats

lordofhats New Member

The best way to describe magic is ironically the word itself. Its MAGIC! Honestly, I can't see how any technical explanation is needed. All your reader needs to know is that when your character waves his hands things have a tendency to explode... violently... usually with some degree of ludicrous dismemberment... mhhhhh. Sweet juicy dismemberment...

What were we talking about? Oh right, magic. The best way to show is to probably let the reader know as the character finds out. So stuff blows up when he waves his hands. No reason really needs to be given for this in a magical context. He's magic he doesn't know why it happens it just does. If you want something more technical you can call it spirit energy, or mana, or chi and make up simple rules or something.

Rule Number One (an example): Once you have called forth the Chi you must release it or you will implode.

That would actually make for some funny dialogue between a character experienced in magic and one who is not. "Just be careful kid or you'll... well lets just say you shrink into a ball and disappear from existence."