1. kingzilla

kingzilla Member

1st person writing questions

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by kingzilla, Jan 26, 2012.

So yeah, I am new to writing books and have a few questions about writing in first person:

1. Is it acceptable to write thoughts of the protag. as if he was talking to the reader (example: I wish I could tell you how much I hated Bill...)

2. If so, how much can you write like this? A few sentences in a paragragh? A paragraph?

3. Finally, in the book I am writing, I plan on writing a prequel to the book(s) I am planning to write. Is it smart to write about the main protag. past (he is a main character in the sequel as well)? If so, how much can I reveal?

Thanks in advance, I know you guys will help me out a lot and hopefully improve my novel.

2. Mark_Archibald

Mark_Archibald Active Member

Is it acceptable to write the thoughts of a protagonist? Yes, and there is a name for this literary technique, but I can't think of it right now.

The more you write, the more you develop a writing style.

3. Cacian

Cacian Banned

That sounds like a good idea but doing too much of that especially if youa re going the negative thought roots can affect the reader choice to make their own mind about the characters.
    so unless you are using it in a sublte way and not taking views your own ways and implicating/forcing it down the reader's throat as they say then it should be OK.
    2) you could do here and then..without the reader being aware you would for example.
    You could consistantly do in a tour de force, meaning you could make it a 5 word sentence everytime so not to burden the reader with yoru thoughts.
    3) yes you must introduce some past in case the reader missed the other sequels.

4. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor