1. X. Sheonn

X. Sheonn Member

I changed my novel from first person to third person...

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by X. Sheonn, Dec 31, 2016.

I'm not sure I made the right choice. I'm not sure it helped. I changed it because my brother told me I wouldn't be able to do the things I wanted if it was in first person. So I've been working with it that way for a couple months now, and I think it made it worse. But in other ways it opened up other ideas I hadn't considered. I just don't know. What'ch'all think?

2. Simpson17866

Simpson17866 Contributor Contributor

Welcome to the site!
    The first rule of writing is you do not talk about there are no rules of writing ;) There are only suggestions that you learn well enough to know when you want to ignore them.

What are you trying to do, and what are the other ideas you've had since trying this?

3. X. Sheonn

X. Sheonn Member

Well, I originally wanted to write it almost entirely from MC's perspective, but still get other people's thoughts and feelings. My brother said that I can't do that with first person, so I tried his way. And, while I've had several ideas that work in third person, it seems that the prose and voice of my book no longer makes sense. It's almost like acting as a character in a play or movie in that I was writing as my MC. Writing what he sees and how he feels. Now, there's a whole lot more to keep track of because I can't just do what he sees. Before, if he didn't see it, I didn't talk about it unless I had a brief vignette from another character's POV. Now I feel like I have to talk about things that MC doesn't know about. Maybe it's a stupid. I don't know. Just let me know if it's stupid.

4. Simpson17866

My newest novella was told from 4 first-person POVs, have you tried that?

5. X. Sheonn

X. Sheonn Member

....No, actually. Maybe I could try that. I mean, when I'm thinking about the other characters I tend to do the same thing that I do with the MC.

Simpson17866 likes this.