1. ~Artemis~

~Artemis~ Member

Character names in a novella-type work (adult themes mentioned)

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by ~Artemis~, Nov 23, 2015.

Hi all,

I'm going to preface this by saying I'm new to the whole writing forum scene; I'm used to asking questions like this in person where I can clarify what I mean if need be, so I apologize if my question isn't clear.

I'm writing a collection of autobiographical fiction short stories that more or less form a cohesive work (it's complicated). The stories all focus on a female protagonist, and each story follows her dysfunctional relationship with a different man. The collection begins with her first and perhaps most emotionally significant relationship, which more or less dictates the trajectory of her ensuing love life, and ends with her most damaging and abusive relationship, with the stories in-between featuring abusive relationships, relationships based on a need to be loved rather than actual romantic interest in the SO, and men she mistreated due to her own mental instability.

My question is this: names. (Okay, that's not a question, but stay with me.)

I have named the protagonist Artemis for a couple reasons: 1. I want there to be a sort of emotional disconnect between Artemis and reality; that is, I don't want this to be strictly realistic. I want to portray Artemis' unreliability in part through her name being unrealistic; how many Artemises do you meet walking down the street? It's not a traditional name these days. It has a more fantastical feel than if I were to choose a traditional name. 2. I really like the irony of Artemis being named after the Goddess of Virginity and Purity while the entire work is about her relationship with various men and the impurity associated with such a subject.