Tags:
  1. Stammis

Stammis Banned

Short Story My story is garbage; what do I do?

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by Stammis, Nov 3, 2017.

So, a little context: this is a story I've been working on for the last three years, it was the first short story that I seriously intended to finish.

I've developed much since then and the story has gone through many iterations, and became longer and longer the more I learned how a story is constructed.

Even though it has changed a lot, there's always been a central theme: there is a small community, in a desolate land, that had their memories altered for purposes that are revealed later. I've built upon this idea, and tried to incorporate others, to make overall plot make sense, to answer the why and how questions. But, over the years, as I learned, the plot feels more like a patchwork than a cohesive story.

There is some good in there that I'm proud of, such the environments, and the human condition, but when you think about the reasons behind it all, you start to find the holes and it suddenly doesn't make much sense.

The story have been a great learning experience and I'm glad I made it. The story is roughly 140 pages long and fully edited. I always intended to put it up for free but I now hesitate to do so.

What do you think? Is my reputation on the line or is it forgiving to put it up if it is the first longer story you've ever created?

2. OurJud

OurJud Contributor Contributor

Simple answer - you work at it until you're happy enough to share it with others. I wouldn't worry about reputation (it's not like you're a best selling writer who suddenly starts publishing crap). Folk will read it and tell you what they think, but if you knowingly put garbage out, then expect criticism.

I've lost count of the number of stories I've abandoned because I come to the conclusion it's not feasible or there's too many plot holes. The idea is to work at fixing these, but I'm a born quitter so never do.