1. AnnieAnne

AnnieAnne New Member

Hello! Can you help me with a plot situation?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by AnnieAnne, Aug 6, 2017.

Hey Writing Forums Comunity! I'm just getting started with creative writing and I could use your help! I'm wiritng a story about five friends who go to the beach and one of them drowns and dies. What I would love to know is how to make that happen. My chars will probably get drunk and while one of them is in trouble, the other one is going to drown without the rest of them noticing. But I'm not sure about the details. So far I have two guys who are really good swimmers, a girl with a twisted ankle, and two other girls. Can you give me ideas about how can I make this character drown wthout others noticing? It may or not involve alchool, the twisted ankle, etc. I'm just really stuck! Thanks in advance.
    Btw, the one that has to die is a girl.

2. GuardianWynn

GuardianWynn Contributor Contributor

Is this a short story? Or is that the end?

I ask because I think that matters a lot in a story like this.

Because what happens next is very reliant on what happens here.

If the story is about regret of what happened or the characters trying to hide the fact she died in their care.

Making the situation mean or reckless is probably gonna make me care less about the main living characters. But that could be what you want if the story is about one or two being more worried about getting caught.

Where do you want the story to go? That more than anything will give you the best advice on which angle to start with.

AnnieAnne likes this.
  3. Walking Dog

Walking Dog Active Member