1. HallowMan97

HallowMan97 New Member

A Quandary in Hyper-Reality

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by HallowMan97, Jun 5, 2016.

Hi there!

I have been writing a novel for the past five years, constantly rewriting it the second it was finished because:

1) My writing skill had improved since the last draft and I want it to be the best it could possibly be.
    2) I always get a cool idea to include.
    3) I phase out things that don't contribute to the overall plot.

I'm currently on draft five. The third reason is why I am here because I need advice from a community of writers on making one of the biggest changes to my story. To give you context--

My novel takes place within an alternate version of Earth, with the protagonist's country and culture based on Medieval Ireland. The MC in question is a paranoid schizophrenic, suffering from debilitating hallucinations and feelings of paranoia and grandiose destiny. The idea is that the typical fantasy tropes of "Boy getting powers" or "Boy becomes chosen hero" are turned on their head, as the protagonist is really a crazy kid whose delusions convince others he is chosen by a god--A prophet!--and the fantastical occurrences are a product of his own imagination rather than it literally being a world where prophets and gods are literal. It's very much left up to interpretation.

Except...

I had mentioned "others" who are convinced the MC is a prophet. These individuals actually do have special abilities, which they attribute to the divine. Depending on what culture they are from, the story is different but they all place their powers in faith. Even when said it could be the result of "moldy bread" as an actual divine being, the MC's grandiose attitude jumps the gun on this and he embraces his "destiny" to the fullest, with the powers adding to his claim, though the true cause of them are left to interpretation.