1. aoibhneas

aoibhneas New Member

Reviewing - idle thoughts

Discussion in 'Revision and Editing' started by aoibhneas, May 11, 2009.

Ramblings
    I've signed up, introduced myself and read the available guidelines on reviewing. I've looked to the reviews of others for inspiration and posted a grand total of three reviews myself. A wealth of experience, I know, so following on from that I'd like to share a few thoughts on the process.

When I found this forum, I was struck by the fact that reviewing the work of others was not only mandatory but considered to be vital to one's own growth as a writer. I couldn't agree more.

My background is in digital illustration - 3d stuff. I worked as an architectural illustrator. I would work up a piece for a client, make endless changes and then sit back and look at the finished piece. I found it impossible to gauge the quality of the piece myself so I looked to my colleagues for their input and advice. A fresh eye was vital.

It follows that this should apply to any creative piece. Your work is your baby and it can be impossible to stand back from it and look at it with a critical eye. You will make one of two mistakes; you will either think it's the best thing since four-to-the-floor or that it's total cr*p.

Conclusions
    Read the reviews of those who have made many valuable contributions on the forum. If you feel a particular reviewer knows what they're talking about, search for and read their reviews. No, examine their reviews, take them apart like a piece of writing. You will learn a lot.

It's easy to crit for SP&G. Let someone else do it.