1. Nobeler Than Lettuce

Nobeler Than Lettuce New Member

Sex, Drugs, Rock and Roll

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Nobeler Than Lettuce, Oct 27, 2009.

So before I was anything I was a writer, but before that I had gotten a really sweet break and was attending medical school in Hungary. Due to the riots and the general state of the country (see photo: https://www.writingforums.org/picture.php?albumid=40&pictureid=190 ) and other factors which I will not discuss I left and went back to America, losing my chance at college. Since European med schools do a shorter program, I couldn't just pick back up where I left off, so I had to start at the beginning, and that's where I'm at now.

During that time I didn't have much access to a computer, so I blocked out a novel in my head. It was pretty simple science fiction, focusing on some kind of god computer, and since I love Dostoevsky, a jealous murder. Now that I've come back I've begun writing a novel with a much greater philosophical aim. Which is why I naturally ask, how far can I go with the sex, drugs, and rock and roll?

I don't really mean the characters should be swearing or acting lewd, even though that often comes along with the lifestyle. I'd like to take a more modern approach, but am unsure how.

From the beginning of the book (a flashback sequence) everyone is smoking bud and drinking beer. Which is already way more than most proper literature allows. Further in you encounter Meth, LSD, Ecstasy, Cocaine, Ketamine, 2ci, DMT, various opiates, and Mescaline (To quote The Matrix “The only way to fly.”)