1. tinkerbelll

tinkerbelll Member

a question

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by tinkerbelll, May 25, 2012.

Hello.

I'm writing a novel about a world famous actress and I think I'm good at this job. Because I'm also a literature translator, so I know some publishers and after that some editors read my novel's a few chapters, they obssessed with me. They are sending trojans to my mails constantly, so I transferred my novel another pc without internet connection. But now I get threats from them. I'm Turkish and live in Turkey (It's a shame for my country--but publishers are very cheater) and writing my novel in Turkish. My english is very bad as you see. But I dont rely on them any more and want to publish my book a world famous publisher. But I cant write it in English. Do you know a publisher which accept it Turkish, then translate it then publish?

2. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

Won't happen. You'll have to write it in English yourself, or pay the considerable expense out of pocket to have it translated BEFORE you try to sell it.

If you are a literature translator, you know how many nuances are simply lost in translation. What you end up with is unlikely to be publishable.

3. tinkerbelll

tinkerbelll Member

Thank you Cogito :(

4. louis1

louis1 Member

''What you end up with is unlikely to be publishable.''

I don't really agree with this, i've read a lot of books that were translated for english to french. There is a difference but with a good translator it can be done.

The harryp potter series was awesome even in french. voltaires' candide was awesome even in english. details do get lost, but the story and characters are still there.

5. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

We're not talking about a foreign language adaptation of a primary publication in English, one which has already become a success in that primary language.