1. SpiritOfSaturn

SpiritOfSaturn New Member

Generally speaking, what are certain words you avoid using?

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by SpiritOfSaturn, Jun 11, 2016.

I'm a fairly young writer in my early twenties, and I've been taught, through out my schooling, that it typically depends on your audience, as far as word selection goes. But, I was just curious, are there any words you abstain from using? If there are I'd be curious to know the reason, whether its simply because you don't like the word, think it is over used, or maybe a different reason entirely. Let me know!
    -SpiritofSaturn

2. A lake.

A lake. Member

I go by flow, if the word sounds good with the rest of the writing I use it if it seems lumpy I look for a different word.

3. izzybot

izzybot (unspecified) Contributor

Yeah, I think it depends too heavily on context and audience. If I'm writing for a younger crowd I'll avoid using something like 'effluvia' or 'luminiferous', but, well - actually I wouldn't because when I was a kid loved coming across words I didn't know, hahah. You can find lists of words that people think are gross and shouldn't be used like 'moist' or 'fester' but I'd totally use those if the situation called for it (especially if the situation was gross!). And you'll come across words that are considered weak and be told not to use them, but I think those have their place too. Some words aren't a good fit for some pieces, to be fair; if I'd been using pretty simple language I'd probably avoid suddenly tossing in 'bioluminescence' just because it's my favorite word, but that's just context. I don't have any words that I avoid across the board, I don't think. I'm not sure if you'll find anyone who does, really. It seems like a strange practice to me.

Romana likes this.
  4. Buttered Toast

Buttered Toast Active Member

@izzybot why would you not like luminiferous? Sorry just wondering as I have it in my book lol :)