1. ElijaMayow

ElijaMayow New Member

A young Somali ambitious writer

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by ElijaMayow, Apr 4, 2017.

Hello everyone,
    My name is Abdulaziz but I'd rather you calling me Elija. I turned 19 less than a month ago. I love novels so much. I was introduced to this world by my brother who is one year younger than me. Actually, he is not a reader. He had an assignment at school. He was supposed to summarize a novel. He didn't know what to do. He asked me to do it for him. That was the first time I held a novel in my hands. I asked him when he needs it and he said a week. I accepted the challenge, though it was not a challenge. But anyway, I started reading it and it felt SENSATIONALLY ENGAGING AND AMAZING. Now, I have read 14 novels during the past 8 months and "A thousand splendid suns' by Khalid Husseini is my 15th right now. When I started reading it a week ago, I decided i write a novel. I know I have no experience, I know I should start writing short stories first or whatever but the idea I have in my mind is much more bigger than those stuff. I don't care if it takes me 10 years to really master writing this novel but I will finish it and I am 110% sure because for the sixth day when I start the two hours session of typing on my laptop listening to music, it just feels SATISFYING.
    I need a person who I can exchange my writings with so that they can advise me. I really need this ! Thanks!

Elija

2. Robert Musil

Robert Musil Comparativist Contributor

Hey--welcome to the forum. Can I ask what that first book you read was, that felt so engaging? And do you know what you want to write about (I know that's a big question...)?

3. ElijaMayow

ElijaMayow New Member

Hi Robert,
    The first book was "Behind the beautiful forevers" by Katherine Boo.