1. normalzebra

normalzebra New Member

About: Help Needed While Writing Conversations.

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by normalzebra, Dec 1, 2012.

Hi,
    This is my first post here, I am a new writer, in the sense that I have been inspired to write a tale that I came up with myself.
    Right now I am currently revising and rewriting, coming up with a better way to write what I have written. Even though I realize I am not very good at it, I feel this will only be rectified if I keep on practising creative writing.

The reason I am starting this thread is I want help writing conversations between people. I have NO experience at all writing conversations, so I am afraid whatever I write as a conversation may not make any sense or sound outright childish.

So, here I am asking for any tips or any suggestions you may give to me that can help me.

Thank you for your help.

--normal zebra

2. Ian J.

Ian J. Active Member

Some possible places to start:

Try watching programmes on TV that involve live conversations. Without infringing copyright, record them and analyze how people interact, where they interrupt and speak over each other, and pause saying nothing.

Then do the same with scripted TV or film. See how the conversations tend not to overlap, and are generally more precise. In writing a novel, you can't overlap dialogue so you need to let each character have their say. You can have characters interrupt each other though.

Finally, read lots of novels with conversations in. There are plenty out there (most of them in fact).

Ultimately you need to increase the depth of your experience in order to get a feel for writing anything, and these are a few places to start.

3. EdFromNY

EdFromNY Hope to improve with age Supporter Contributor