1. Erin Drello

Erin Drello New Member

How to look for an agent?

Discussion in 'Agent Discussion' started by Erin Drello, Mar 8, 2013.

I am a new blog writer and I am having some mild success with the two blogs I am writing. Especially considering I only market through social media. So I am wondering where to start in looking for an agent. Can anyone help?

2. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

agents don't represent bloggers... they only rep books...

what did you think an agent could do for you in re your blogs?... what you are probably looking for is a 'publicist'...

3. live2write

live2write Senior Member

Then how do you find an agent for publishing a novel/book?

Especially with blog writing, isn't there a way where she can write an exclusive book that is an extension from the blog?

4. Erin Drello

Erin Drello New Member

Thanks... This is exactly what I wanted to say.

5. thirdwind

thirdwind Member Contest Administrator Reviewer Contributor

agentquery.com is a good place to start.

6. chicagoliz

chicagoliz Contributor Contributor

Follow them on twitter. A lot of them post a lot of good stuff, and also link to other blogs and websites of lit agents. Also, if you can go to writing conferences, that's a great place to meet agents.

7. Sanjuricus

Sanjuricus Active Member

Anyone know of a good resource for finding agents in the UK? ...or should us Brits be going for US agents where possible?

8. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

i have several good agent listings for various parts of the world... you can email me for them... maia3maia@hotmail.com

if you want the widest range of publishing opportunities of course you can seek a US agent and publisher, no matter where you live...

as for a book of blogs, i can't imagine any agent or publisher being interested unless the blogger is as well known as arianna huffington...

9. Krishan

Krishan Active Member