1. Fernando.C

Fernando.C Contributor Contributor

How To Outline Without Outlining?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Fernando.C, Jul 28, 2017.

I have a problem guys. I've been working on my current WIP for something around 7 years now, and one of the big reason that it has dragged out this long - aside from my compulsive procrastination - is that I'm writing without any structure.

Allow me to elaborate; I'm a discovery writer which means I don't outline my books, I've tried outlining before and it just never works for me. So the way I usually write is that I have this vague idea of the plot of my story and the direction it is to take in my head and then I just sit down and write, figuring out the details as I go long. This method seems to suit me better overall but I'm having a lot of issues applying it to my WIP novel.

Because of this lack of structure, too often I end up feeling lost, not knowing what I should write and what direction a specific chapter needs to take. I know how the book begins and how it ends but the middle is really murky, there are a couple of big plot points that I know I need to hit but aside from those there's a sense of aimlessness when it comes to the writing of the middle section of the novel.

Another issue is that since I figure things out as I write, I usually don't find out a lot of the flaws in the story and plot holes and problems until I actually get to them which means a whole lot of rewriting (I know rewriting and revision is inevitable for a writer but I've rewritten the the first few chapters of my novel so many times it's insane).