Tags:
  1. Crazy-catfish

Crazy-catfish Member

Suggestion Newbie section

Discussion in 'Support & Feedback' started by Crazy-catfish, Jul 21, 2017.

Apologies if this has already been suggested before, but I would love to see a section that specifically allows newbie writers to post their work for critique. As a novice myself I feel as though I need to explain to readers that I am new and inexperienced, so not to expect much. :p
    Readers would automatically be aware of this before reading any of the work put there. Would make posting work far less daunting for most newbs too. :)

2. Lifeline

Lifeline South. Supporter Contributor

Well, we've all been there and posted something for critique for the first time :) No need to be nervous. If you just say at the start of your post that you're new to this, and maybe tell us which kind of critique you'd like to have (i.e. structure, characterisation, not so much SPaGs,..) I'm sure it'll work fine.

On the risk to reiterate: you know that you have to critique two other works before posting one work of your own?

Crazy-catfish likes this.
  3. Crazy-catfish

Crazy-catfish Member

Thanks @Lifeline Yep, I've critiqued two and also posted my own on here but just thought it would be great to have a specific section to post in just so everyone knows that all the posters in there are new to writing. :)

Lifeline likes this.
  4. Trish

Trish Damned if I do and damned if I don't Contributor

You'll see that many people put notes at the top of the post for crit. "First time posting, be gentle" or whatever. It'll be okay :) Like @Lifeline said, we've all been there. Don't worry.

5. Tenderiser

Tenderiser Not a man or BayView

I think this is a really good idea. CritiqueCircle has a specific area for newbies, outside of its genre areas, with the expectation that critique will still be constructive but that blunter/harsher critics will be careful how they phrase things. As far as I can see, it works well.

6. Crazy-catfish