1. Published on Amazon? If you have a book, e-book, or audiobook available on Amazon.com, we'll promote it on WritingForums.org for free. Simply add your book to our Member Publications section. Add your book here or read the full announcement.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice
  1. Homer Potvin

    Homer Potvin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Messages:
    1,676
    Likes Received:
    1,869
    Location:
    The People's Republic of New Hampshire

    Bug Report "Alerts" rollover not working...

    Discussion in 'Support & Feedback' started by Homer Potvin, Mar 9, 2017.

    I noticed in the last few days that my alert and inbox menus do not pop up when I roll over the links... anybody else having this problem? Having to click on them is not a huge issue, but the rollover sure was convenient.
     
  2. Komposten

    Komposten Insanitary pile of rotten fruit Staff Supporter Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,741
    Likes Received:
    759
    Location:
    Sweden
    The "roll over for popup" feature has never worked for me on my desktop. Though if it always worked for you before...

    Try a different browser to see if the problem only occurs on one browser. If it does, try clearing your cookies and browser cache in case some script is acting up.
     
  3. Homer Potvin

    Homer Potvin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Messages:
    1,676
    Likes Received:
    1,869
    Location:
    The People's Republic of New Hampshire
    Nope. Same problem with multiple browsers and after clearing cache. Bummer...
     
  4. Daniel

    Daniel I'm sure you've heard the rumors. Founder Staff Contributor

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,690
    Likes Received:
    484
    Location:
    Peoria, Illinois
    I'm also not familiar with the rollover feature you're describing. Could you in a more detail?
     
  5. Homer Potvin

    Homer Potvin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Messages:
    1,676
    Likes Received:
    1,869
    Location:
    The People's Republic of New Hampshire
    Used to be when I hovered the mouse cursor over the "alerts" box the menu would pop up without clicking. Now I have to click on the actual link.
     
  6. BayView

    BayView Contributing Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    Messages:
    7,325
    Likes Received:
    7,036
    Yeah, I'm with Homer - used to work, now it doesn't. And, as with him, not a big deal, but... it was nice while it lasted!
     
  7. MusingWordsmith

    MusingWordsmith Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    Somewhere Over the Rainbow
    Rollover works for me. I'm on a laptop, use Firefox. Maybe it's an extension? The only one I got is uBlock Origin.
     
  8. Homer Potvin

    Homer Potvin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Messages:
    1,676
    Likes Received:
    1,869
    Location:
    The People's Republic of New Hampshire
    I thought I had a magic computer for a minute there. Like mine was the only one. :(
     
  9. Daniel

    Daniel I'm sure you've heard the rumors. Founder Staff Contributor

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,690
    Likes Received:
    484
    Location:
    Peoria, Illinois
    Just to be clear; previously, when you hovered over the alerts box it would popup with a list of alerts. As it should Now it doesn't pop up unless you click the alerts tab?

    We did make some minor improvements to our alert system a few days ago, so it's likely related. I would like to keep the alert popup functionality.

    For myself, Chrome and Safari still show me a list of recent alerts in a popup menu when I hover over the alerts box.

    What browser and version are you using?
     
  10. Homer Potvin

    Homer Potvin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Messages:
    1,676
    Likes Received:
    1,869
    Location:
    The People's Republic of New Hampshire
    Latest firefox, just upgraded yesterday... and yes, now it does not pop up when I hover...
     
  11. Daniel

    Daniel I'm sure you've heard the rumors. Founder Staff Contributor

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,690
    Likes Received:
    484
    Location:
    Peoria, Illinois
    I just tested in Firefox 49.0.9. It took a second to load, but the pop-up worked. I just updated Firefox to the latest version (at least for a Mac) 52.0 (64-bit) and it works.

    I'll report it to the software developers as a possible bug.

    Edit: It looks like it might be an issue with our custom theme.
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2017
  12. BayView

    BayView Contributing Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    Messages:
    7,325
    Likes Received:
    7,036
    It's working for me today (in Chrome) but didn't work on my other computer yesterday (in Firefox).
     
  13. Rosacrvx

    Rosacrvx Contributing Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    It's working for me. I'm using Firefox, latest update.
    And I still use Windows XP, if it matters.
     

Share This Page