1. Philliggi

Philliggi Member

The editing process

Discussion in 'Revision and Editing' started by Philliggi, Mar 25, 2019.

So I'm a bit of a novice writer, currently writing my first full length work.

Before I started I always presumed that editing was a bit of a waste. You would pick up the odd grammar or spelling error, but the story would pretty much remain the same.

How wrong could I have been. I'm currently coming to the end of my second draft, and it remains a similar tale up until the half way point. That's where I deleted approx 30,000 words and started again.

The vision I had just didn't work. I was trying to shoehorn my ideas down paths they didn't want to take. Mental illnesses didn't fit their symptoms, characters reactions were false and wooden, and my beta reader didn't get it, skipping to the end to see what the outcome was.

Fast forward to now, and it's a completely different story. Characters who were the bad guy have become likable, characters who died live to be the hero, and there's 3 or 4 extra edge of your seat scenes.

I now have a piece I'm comfortable with. There's a couple of scenes I'll be asking my beta to look at and see if they seem plausible, but any edits will be tweaks, nothing more.

So, where do I go from here then. What's the 3rd draft all about? Other than the couple of scenes I've mentioned, I can only see spelling and grammar to go at now unless anything crops up in my beta proof read.

Any tips for the 3rd draft onwards?

2. John Calligan

John Calligan Contributor Contributor

My second draft is like yours: story fixes.

My third draft is for prose: making sure I like the wording, that I’m grounding the scene before getting into anything abstract, and that my description, dialog, and exposition are well shuffled.

My fourth draft is reading it out loud at speed to pick up anything awkward.

Then I give it to beta readers for the first time.