1. Cavance

Cavance New Member

American versus Canadian spelling

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by Cavance, Jun 1, 2019.

I have recently completed a novel, which is set in both Canada and the USA. It's a semi-fictionalized account of my grandfather who was hospitalized in 1927 in an asylum in Milledgeville, Georgia. I am a Canadian writer but hope to market the book in both the USA and Canada. I sent my manuscript for fact checking to an historian in Georgia (where a good part of the action takes place) and she commented that the Canadian spelling in the Georgian sections took her out of the story. My Canadian writer friends suggest I stick with the Canadian spelling but I am concerned that the spelling is tripping up readers who expect American spelling in an American setting. Any suggestions would be most appreciated!

lonelystar likes this.
  2. BayView

BayView Huh. Interesting. Contributor

I'm a Canadian and I use US spellings for anything set in the US or that I wanted marketed to Americans.

Canadians are just a lot more adaptable for stuff like that. We can read something with US or Canadian spellings and just accept it for what it is. Americans seem much more likely to notice and disapprove of anything they weren't expecting. So... I pander.

Cavance and deadrats like this.
  3. jannert

jannert Retired Mod Supporter Contributor

Good grief! As an ex-American (from Michigan) who has lived in Scotland for the past 33 years, I confess to not knowing there WAS a difference between American and Canadian spelling! Yikes.

I think if you start switching spellings in the middle of the story, that's going to have a strange effect, because your readers are likely to be EITHER Canadian or American. So you'll be tripping both of them up, only in different places in the story.