1. punchthedamnkeys

punchthedamnkeys Member

Novel What was it like writing your first novel/story?

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by punchthedamnkeys, Feb 21, 2013.

I'm currently on the process of trying to come up with my storyline...

I don't have much experience in writing yet, only having scrapped a few stories in the past that I was never really happy with. I would love to actually finish a novel (even if it's never published) and I do understand the amount of work involved in it all, especially if you want to write a good novel that's worth reading. I've never taken any proper writing courses before. The only experience I have in writing really are essay assignments from my English courses back in high school, which isn't a lot to begin with... I will admit that I'm a complete amateur with all of this but I'm hoping you can all look aside that fact and take me seriously. We all have to start somewhere, don't we?

I'm having problem trying to piece together the storyline for my story. How do you guys usually go about doing this? I find it extremely difficult to be truly content with the storyline, always feeling like I need to add more to it. How do you prevent yourself from going overboard and adding too much to the story that it takes away from it? What is your writing process like? I understand that it's going to be different for everybody, but what would you suggest for a beginner? I'm all over the place right now and really need proper guidance.

Even though I find this whole thing overwhelming, I really believe I got a good story and would love to go through with it this time around...

Any other advice or suggestions you can give me is very much appreciated.

Thank you!

2. Selbbin

Selbbin The Moderating Cat Staff Contributor Contest Winner 2023

Exhausting.

As for the rest of the answers, you'll find them in various threads. You've basically asked everything at once and it's a lot to answer.

3. BitPoet

BitPoet New Member