1. AboveTheAngels

AboveTheAngels New Member

Thoughts on a Sci-Fi plot

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by AboveTheAngels, Feb 22, 2010.

I am a new writer in terms of novels. I have created a somewhat I beleive to be great plot however the problem is a plot at this height is very controversial and I was hoping fellow writers could give their input on whether this could work or not. If you think that this plot may make or break a good Science fiction series.

My dream is to create a science fiction novel and hopefully create a universe big enough to house a series with many different aliens and worlds such as Startrek and Starwars.

My plot is illustrated through the collision of galaxies. What I pictured is that each galaxy has many different races and planets. Example the Milkyway is the galaxy of the human race. Eventually the Milkyway will collide with the Andromeda galaxy. Which I have pictured the Andromeda Galaxy as housing many other races and planets. When the two merge so to speak I pictured that they would coexsist in the same galaxy and live among each other.

The main problems are:

1.) The merging of galaxies would take millions of years and even if a race could last in terms of time could they survive a clash with another galaxy seeing as their is little evidence of galaxy collision.

2.)Obviously i would have to establish routes of getting around space within a reasonable time because getting from planet to planet would take years at least. So I would have to create a means of getting from point A to point B within a reasonable time.

and there are many more issues that would get in the way of this theory.