Tags:
  1. creativechris76

creativechris76 New Member

to outline or not to outline?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by creativechris76, Feb 27, 2011.

OK, so I'm a beginning writer,and when I say beginning, I mean I haven't written one page yet. But I feel I'm ready, I have a ton of ideas that i'm looking forward to start. My dilemma is to outline or not?

I want my plots to be interesting and to make sense. I've heard several successful authors say they hate outlining and never do. They claim it takes the fun out of writing and that they discover their story and characters as they write it, which to me sounds like fun as well,but also a lot of frustration for an amateur like myself down the road. The reason I want to write is for the fun of it, and sure the dream of being published, but I'm afraid if I outline it will take that away but I'm afraid if i don't I'll get frustrated and give up cause I get lost. And what if i do outline but i feel my characters are taking the story in a different direction?
    I must sound like a babbling idiot lol but this is what keeps me up all night and scares me into starting my writing.

2. zilly

zilly New Member

I come up with my most creative points in the story while writing on the fly. But, my stories don't ever go anywhere if I don't have an outline. So, I write out a very brief outline of the things that need to happen and the order they need to occur and then pretty much wing it from there. Sometimes I even write the stories out of order, but I have a feeling a lot of people do so as well.

3. Spring Gem

Spring Gem New Member

Every writer is different. Experiment to see what works for you. Try writing without an outline. Try writing with one. You don't have to do the formal outline that you had to do in school. There are many types of outlines from very detailed to very loose. Don't get caught up in trying to do it right or perfect the first time you attempt to write a story.

Good luck.

4. Unit7