1. Jemnisimi

Jemnisimi New Member

Sailing in on a magic waffle boat~

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Jemnisimi, Apr 26, 2010.

Hi. My name is Jem. And waffle is my favorite word.

Everyone needs a favorite word. Especially if they like to write. Fortunately I refrain from using it in my writings for it is not a very graceful thing. But nor are cute, cuddly-wuddly kittens and they're still grand. Speaking of which, want one? I have four. And six adults. My furbabies.

Never did much like summing myself up in a few paragraphs. Not that I was actually asked to, but I have an obnoxious tendency to elaborate on details and big pictures alike.

Perhaps that's why my writing needs so much help.

I've been writing a fantasy novel trilogy for over five years. While I was in high school, I did poorly on all subjects. Turns out it was largely because I'm sick, but more to the point, I failed English 1 six times. I remember always having problems in school but one thing I really wanted to do well on was writing stories and I thought I was very good, until my grades came back and I scored the worst in the class. Every time.

Who knows if I ever got any better. All I know is that a friend got me into forum roleplaying after I got my first computer and I got so into melding myself with my characters that the burning desire to continue to do so took over my thoughts from then on (and still does). Eventually, however, everyone I used to write with moved on to have real lives, and here I am stuck on disability and begrudgingly forced to write for myself.

Since I was 'abandoned', so to speak, I had only written one short story. It was bad. I knew it was bad. I'm more into interaction partly because I lack a degree of mental focus and energy... and plots just aren't my strong points. But over a few years I became very, very frustrated and decided I would have to learn to write on my own or else I would go crazy.