Tags:
  1. Veltman

Veltman Active Member

Any experts that write "lighter" stories that can lend a hand?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Veltman, Dec 24, 2018.

After being blocked out of writing in all my 4 WIPs, I decided to give it a break and write a lighter, more relaxed "slice of life" story about a millionaire heir that inherits his father's business and tries to manage it without abandoning his playboy lifestyle. You know, pretty simple stuff. No blood, no deaths, no central villain.

For those of you who write more relaxed, lighter stories, how do you develop your plots so it doesn't drag while not deviating the story from being down to earth?

2. Tenderiser

Tenderiser Not a man or BayView

I'm no expert, but my stories don't tend to have life or death at their core. They're about people dealing with relationships that have challenges, and it's more than enough to drive 80,000 words.

I think the important thing to remember is you have to have conflict, but it doesn't have to be life or death. In fact, readers will rarely face life or death conflicts, so they can relate very well to 'lesser' problems.

A story about a millionaire heir running from villains who want to murder him for his fortune has a good conflict.

A story about a millionaire heir who finds he can no longer tell who likes him for him and who likes him for his money also has a good conflict - and, for my tastes, a better and more interesting conflict. Nobody's life is at risk, but it's a bloody interesting problem the protagonist has to deal with.

A story about a millionaire heir whose new fortune is threatened when a stranger turns up claiming to be his half-brother and challenging the will also has an interesting conflict.