1. thirdwind

thirdwind Member Contest Administrator Reviewer Contributor

Any musicians in the house?

Discussion in 'Entertainment' started by thirdwind, Jul 26, 2013.

I know there are a few of you who play instruments, and I thought it would be nice to discuss anything related to instruments with some of you guys. What instruments do you guys play? How long have you been playing for?

I started taking piano lessons about 2 years ago, but there's still a lot of room for improvement. I'm working on learning Pachelbel's Canon in D at the moment. I've also played guitar before, though I've never really practiced, so I'm bad.

I also like to think that I'm an OK singer, but my family doesn't agree. :(

2. minstrel

minstrel Leader of the Insquirrelgency Supporter Contributor

I've been a guitarist for forty years, and a singer for longer. On the guitar, I progressed through pop and rock to jazz, which was too hard, then back to rock, then to folk and folk-rock, which is where I am now. The music is simple but deep and I like that. Currently I have a Stratocaster, a six-string acoustic, and a twelve-string acoustic (which is my BABY). I have two other guitars, but they're up in Toronto at my sister's house and I get to visit them once a year.

As a singer, I had very little technique for decades, but I had a strong voice. I've only been working on technique over the past ten years or so, and I'm getting better. I'm almost fifty-two now, so I don't sound like the bright-voiced teenager I once was, but the rasp and growl that come with age works well for the songs I sing these days.

I took piano lessons as a kid, so I know what to do with a keyboard, but I don't practice it and I'm terrible at it.