1. EMMA

EMMA Banned

Website Idea?

Discussion in 'Writing Software and Hardware' started by EMMA, Oct 5, 2008.

I am a 3rd year student and I will be creating an interactive narrative website. As I have taken part in creative writing courses and websites that act as a hub for writers I know that the key problem for a writer is finding inspiration. I would like to create a site that was filled with triggers; art, music, quotes, and games that kick start story ideas. Users could come to the site to get an idea and then write or after the post of a piece of art or a piece of music they will be asked to 'find the story'.

Does anyone have any comments on this idea?

2. Ommonite

Ommonite New Member

When I was younger I once started making a database of everything ever. But it was for making RPGs, not stories.

I don't quite get your idea. Sounds a tad like seventhsanctum to me. I can kinda see where your going with it, but would be too much of a hassle.

There are tons of things to inspire people, tons. to compile enough enough on all of that topic. i mean wow.

History has a goof 5000 years of inspirational times, with almost every century having 10 different inspiring cultures each with unique names, weaponry, clothing, cuisine, language . That's just a history section and its already a massive project. imagine adding in technology, legendary creatures, scientific theories.

Thats what you'd need for EVERY kind of writer to use the site.

3. NaCl

NaCl Contributor Contributor

I don't believe there is much need for such a website as writers today have an entire internet full of "triggers" for creativity, and there are numerous writers' forums (such as this one) that help aspiring authors refine their initial excitement.

4. tehuti88

tehuti88 New Member

Cripes, I haven't any trouble with that at all. As as longtime writer MY greatest problem has been keeping readers and/or getting them to actually respond! :confused: