1. The Backward OX

The Backward OX New Member

Outback Queensland, Australia, far from the maddin

Help needed with ideas to make a unique character likeable.

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by The Backward OX, Mar 29, 2009.

I’m a rookie at characterisation.

Does anyone have any good ideas for ways to make readers empathise with this unique, individual character?

Here’s why he’s unique: He’s a loser. Particularly, he’s behind the eight-ball when it comes to mixing easily with people.

There’s no point in saying a writer does not create characters like that, that they have to be winners if readers are to like them; this story will hinge around this guy’s difficulties.

So I need to make readers feel for him.

Thanks.

2. Just a small smackerel

Just a small smackerel New Member

I think that you've already done that, by making him a loser.

In order to make a character likeable, for me anyway, you have to make me empathize with him. He needs to be shoved down in the dirt, metaphorically speaking, but also be able to put himself back up again. As a reader, I don't want to read about a character who is always pitying himself. Make him a winner by not always falling prey to the pressures around him.

Show the readers that he's socially awkward, make us want to be his friend.

Hope that helps. :love:

3. lynneandlynn

lynneandlynn New Member

Er.. I hate giving this as advice but I find that if you aren't sure you're going to be able to get a reader to emphathize with your character, write a chapter or two from first p.o.v. then reread it to see if you yourself feel drawn in. If you do, then go back and rewrite it in 3rd p.o.v. (if that's the way you write ... from what I've seen so far on this site, a lot of writers are 3rd p.o.v. writers). The reason I hate giving advice like this is because first person p.o.v. is difficult to write well :p

~Lynn

4. Addicted2aa

Addicted2aa New Member