1. Chris Brown

Chris Brown New Member

Application assisted writing

Discussion in 'Writing Software and Hardware' started by Chris Brown, Mar 3, 2019.

Hello,

I am not a writer by trade or do any as a hobby, but I do enjoy stories.
    Something I always wondered when people are writing excessively complex stories is, how do they keep everything consistent. Things such as many main characters, multiple intersecting story lines, different lore, time travel, other dynamic events or changes etc.
    I am asking this as I am a programmer and thought this would be something different to program, would it help to have an application that assists this kind of information?
    For example you have main character separated by time and distance but at various times/places they meet, they also do things unkown to that of the other characters. Stories are read linearly but they occur non-linearly. Would it be helpful to have an application that could detail specific information at specific times/places for character and environments, what has happened to the character, what the characters would know, environment changes, what should be possible, different or changed

Any thoughts?

2. jannert

jannert Retired Mod Supporter Contributor

Yes. I don't think you need an application to do this, though.

This would apply whether you're writing a story set in the real world or in an imaginary one.

Establish a timeline (probably by year, or month, although if the story spans a huge amount of time you can take that into consideration as well.)