1. Rafiki

Rafiki Active Member

Applications to College

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Rafiki, Nov 9, 2012.

I have been immersed within the Junior College system for, quite some time now, and it has finally come for me to begin the college application process.

I have an issue though. While I am double majoring in History/English (I am studying what I find interesting and no I don't expect a job after I graduate) I have begun to have issue with the current structure of my English courses. My English classes are becoming trite, trivial, and all sorts of derogratory terms meaning simple that begin with "t" (triathlon? No, I must be losing it). The issue arises with regards to a singular teacher that I fear might rapidly become the norm. She is assigning High School level work, mindless busy work with the intent of appearing like I am producing. She is not teaching me how I might further myself, which means that much of my education takes place independent of the collegiate system.

Now I understand that a single data point does not constitute a pattern, but I fear that it might become one if I were to enter into a four year university where the class might be taught via inexperienced graduate students.

This is where you guys come in. I put out the call, to those that have the experience, to tell me of your experiences concerning higher education English. Understand that i have the option of applying to art schools, with very prestigious writing programs, and I wonder if an art school would be better suited towards my goals (I never expected that I would be considering art school, ahh the things we do with our time). Any help is appreciated, banal formality, banal formality.

2. Mckk

Mckk Member Supporter Contributor