1. Murkie

Murkie Active Member

Currently Reading::
    Rhythm of War - Brando Sando & Rebel's Creed - Daniel B Greene

Short Story I have a plan.

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by Murkie, Aug 8, 2012.

I've set myself what I think are reasonable goals as far as writing is concerned and I'd like to get some feedback on how attainable they are.

I'm new to the writing scene and I'm certainly not expecting to craft the next best seller anytime soon, so starting with what I think are achievable goals gives me something I can aim for.

My first goal is to write and self publish a short story. Probably through Kindle. I'm planning on doing this a number of times as a way of establishing myself. Obviously what happens after this is an unknown.

Is this an acceptable way into the business, or do people generally dive straight in with novels and hope to get published?

2. Murkie

Murkie Active Member

I've just noticed this is probably in the wrong forum. My fault for writing it whilst i was in a rush. Sorry about that.

3. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

wrong forum or not, writing and self-publishing short stories won't 'establish' you as anything but a self-publishing writer of short stories... it will be counterproductive to establishing you as a serious writer of anything marketable by paying publishers, unless those short stories sell off the charts and are noticed [and publicly praised] by professional literary critics...

the way to establish yourself as a serious writer of marketable material is to be paid for what you write and have it appear in respected venues, or have a well-received and decently selling book published by a traditional publisher [one that pays you, not v/v]...

if your goal is to be a novelist, writing short stories won't help you there, other than as good practice to bring your skills up to publishable levels... and if you can show paid credits for some in your query letters to agents, for your novel/s...