1. Mans

Mans Contributor Contributor

How did you find your desire to write?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Mans, Feb 27, 2014.

What was the first spark in your mind that it propels you to write. The good writing of one of your classmate? A novel? A movie? An random event? Your inherent talent ( an inner voice)? Feel the need to say and communicate with others?...

Last edited: Feb 27, 2014
  2. Tesoro

Tesoro Contributor Contributor

I don't know. It might sound strange, but it was never something I chose. It chose me. I've been writing since I was like, 9 years old, and it was never something I thought much about, I just did it. Like sleeping and eating and breathing. I always felt the need to put pen on paper, and so I did.

Mans and sunsplash like this.
  3. Thomas Kitchen

Thomas Kitchen Proofreader in the Making Contributor

This. I've been writing since I was seven, and I still have most of my projects from way back when. But yes, it chose me. I just have a need to write, and if I didn't give into it, I would be even crazier than I already am. ;)

If I had to pick a moment, though, it was when I was read The Chronicles of Narnia by my dad. I just thought, "If this guy can do it, why can't I? I want to create a great world too." And so it went from there.

Mans likes this.
  4. Yuli Ban

Yuli Ban Member

Well here's my first post here and it's little more than a restatement.
    "It chose me." Exactly. It's disputable when I penned my first "story." I remember it being 5 years old. I was told it could be 4 years old. I don't even know if a 4 year old has a brain that's developed enough to write a story, but whatever.
    It wasn't until I was 18 that I made the decision to become a writer.

Mans likes this.
  5. sunsplash

sunsplash Bona fide beach bum

Between the Magic City & the Conch Republic