1. Dogberry's Watch

Dogberry's Watch Contributor Contributor Contest Winner 2023 Contest Winner 2022

Back of the Book Help

Discussion in 'Blurb Critique' started by Dogberry's Watch, May 21, 2022.

I'm working on cover stuff, and I feel like my blurb is a little lacking. I don't want to give away too much in it, but I also don't want it to sound like something it isn't. This is the first book of a four book series, and the whole thing is a mix of sci-fi and fantasy. I guess the best way to go about it is share it and get some feedback. Any help is appreciated. I've never done this kind of thing before, so I feel a bit out of my depth.

New version can be found here:
    https://www.writingforums.org/threads/back-of-the-book-help.172678/#post-1963872

Nothing of note ever happens in Lowell: a sleepy farming community where the most exciting thing that occurs is the corner market has a surprise pallet of Oreos. Frankie's lived there her whole life, and it's always been more than enough to keep her content. Strange events begin disrupting the quiet routine of the townspeople one summer. Violent and frightening, it leaves Frankie wondering what's real and who she can truly trust.

Last edited: May 24, 2022
    Set2Stun likes this.
  2. Lili.A.Pemberton

Lili.A.Pemberton Active Member

So I've never written a book blurb either, so take my advice with a grain of salt, but "Strange events disrupting the quiet," seems a little vague as well as "one summer". Is the events anything specific? Is it preceded by anything? What year does this take place? How old is Frankie at the start of the story? Where's Lowell? Iowa? Ohio? Why exactly has the town turned violent and frightening?

I also think you should probably tighten up the first sentence a bit, it's a little long.

Dogberry's Watch likes this.
  3. Hammer

Hammer Moderator Staff Supporter Contributor

So... cruel to be kind time...