1. Krisser

Krisser New Member

Need Help With Some Character Names

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by Krisser, May 19, 2008.

Having a bit of trouble coming up with names for my two MC, so thought I'd open it up for discussion. Any help would be greatly appreciated. :D

Set during WWII in London

MC: Female, 21-years-old, English, student, novelist and playwrite, uses sexual and feminist themes in her work, strong-willed, spiky, belligerent, independent.

Secondary MC: Male, 85-years-old, German, famous poet, cranky, wino, nearly blind, still very independent but can no longer take care of himself.

:confused:

2. starrynight89

starrynight89 New Member

Hmm, I'm not good with names either but I can give you a website. It's so useful. . .it has a huge list of names but it's the 1990 census so I guess you have to pick out names that were popular back in WWII. . .but, that's not a big issue, a simple google search should do it.

US Census Names File

Click on dist.male.first.

The names are ranked in popularity and I thought that was useful. . . but, hope this helps and good luck name hunting. :)

3. Darkthought

Darkthought Active Member

Augustus von Plentl

Its a good German name...one of my ancestors.

4. Vayda

Vayda New Member

It's playwright, so you know :)

I don't think the MC needs a particularly fancy name, how about something like Anne, or Angela, or Elizabeth, or Ashley? If you want it to ring particularly British, you might consider naming her after a monarch - like Elizabeth, Mary, Jane, Diana, those sorts of things.

5. Cobra517

Cobra517 New Member

Go to www.babynamesworld.com

There are lots and lots of names from different countries and cultures.

6. Titania

Titania New Member

for the girl... these are US names, but the right time period anyway:
    Most Popular US Names for 1920-1929