1. MustWrite

MustWrite Member

Complicated fantasy plot taking over, help!

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by MustWrite, May 4, 2013.

I am about twenty chapters into my first large-scale fantasy. I am not too good at the work-it-all-out-beforehand plotting, although I have the basic story set out in my head. I know a lot of important scenes that will play out later on, I just have to get the characters to that place at that time.. hmm.

The problem is I think of ideas for the middle or the end of the book before I'm finished writing the early parts, and although I only have two secondary plot-lines I find I am getting really confused. How can character B be in city x when he was already sent to town Y? etc. Etc..

Is my main problem that I need to write an overview of everything? I have tried to do a little synopsis but it feels like I'm taking time out to write about what I should just be writing about, if you know what I mean?

Maybe I just come across as a novice trying to write something that is beyond me..

2. TerraIncognita

TerraIncognita Aggressively Nice Person Contributor

Everyone plots differently. Some people make it up as they go and others have a clear cut plan in their head at the very start.

As for keeping continuity it can help to write a little outline to help you keep things from getting too tangled. I wouldn't go super detailed on it. Just a bare bones frame. Think of it like looking at google maps but zoomed out really far. You don't need every little detail you just need the gist of it to keep you on track. Some people will probably say outlines are bad or superfluous. I think it just depends on how you write and what's easiest for you.