1. SlowToShow

SlowToShow Member

Favorite keyboard for under 50?

Discussion in 'Writing Software and Hardware' started by SlowToShow, Jun 30, 2017.

I don't like my keyboard, so I'm looking for a new one. I've been using an Insignia for about three months. It's a ten dollar cheapo. The keys are too low, too wide at the top, and slightly too annoying. I'm considering a Tomoko, but I figured a thread on the topic would be helpful in sussing out alternatives.

I can't bring myself to spend more than fifty bucks. It's just typing. Any suggestions, alternatives?

2. IHaveNoName

IHaveNoName Senior Member Community Volunteer

You can get a good keyboard for 30-40 bucks these days. I have an ergonomic (split) board that I bought a few months ago; it took about a week to get used to it, but I like it (it's an MS 4000, in case you're wondering). Logitech makes good keyboards, as does Microsoft (yeah, I know). If all else fails, do what I do - check out the sites that sell hardware and look at the reviews and ratings.

3. Lew

Lew Contributor Contributor

jannert likes this.
  4. jannert

jannert Retired Mod Supporter Contributor

I almost like that. However, I would like it better a) if the keys were stepped (there's an ergomatic reason for that) low at front and higher at back. And I'm not sure b) that I like the round keys much.

However, I think it's an excellent idea. For me, the flat keyboards are simply awful to work on. My fingers slip on the keys, my hands get tired working flat.

I use an old white Apple wired keyboard that IS stepped and works a treat. Furthermore, it's got double-sized shift keys on both right and left sides. I hate the tiny left-hand shift keys that appear on so many keyboards these days. Why do they do that? I think you can buy these now for between £10-30.

You can get lots of older keyboards on eBay for a song and a dance. And most of them work fine with more modern computers.
    keyboard.jpg

Last edited: Jun 30, 2017
  5. Brindy