1. FallenShandeh

FallenShandeh New Member

working with co-writers

Discussion in 'Collaboration' started by FallenShandeh, Jun 16, 2014.

I've been writing with people for easily two years now and greatly enjoying it. I find it helps me stay motivated and if my muse runs dry, my co-writer can usually resurrect it.

However... my long-term co-writer and I had a major falling-out [over my number of characters, of all things...] and she and I are barely talking, let alone writing. I have a new co-writer and a new story in progress and this one might actually be publishable. I'm very excited about it. We have plans for a solid plot for the first book and then each one is intended to stand alone or as a series, with each book having its own plot but also being part of a wider overarching plot.

Unfortunately due to both of us having busy lives we aren't writing together nearly as often as we would like, and I'm the last person to update our story document. A week ago. My fingers are itching to write more, but I just can't. I'm waiting on her character's response. She's a young mum, so I get that I have to be patient, but god it's frustrating.

So I guess I'm asking any of you who work WITH someone else... what do you do when your co-writer isn't writing? Do you work on backstory, or scenes that only you can write, or...?

2. Mike Kobernus

Mike Kobernus Senior Member

I wish I could suggest something here. Why not contact her? Talk to her? Maybe you can agree to a schedule that works for you both?

3. TWErvin2

TWErvin2 Contributor Contributor

If you're working on a project with a co-writer that you hope or believe might be published, you should have a contract in place, one which spells out rights and responsibilities of each contributor. Such a contract can save hard feelings in the long run, and also a lot of work, should a co-writer decide writing, or that particular project, just isn't for them anymore.