1. Justin Berak

Justin Berak Member

Is My Plot a Plot?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Justin Berak, Sep 27, 2016.

I'm new to writing. I originally had a longer story with a more complex series of events but I kept cutting at it until it became what I found out to be called "Flash Fiction." The whole premise of the story turned into this: 'A guy who doesn't like eggs eats them for breakfast everyday. He's miserable and hates life. One day he has a bagel instead. Now he's not miserable and doesn't hate life.'

My question is whether or not that's an actual plot, or if I should just throw the whole story out. I was hoping to at least finish my first story, even thought it sucks, so if there's any possibility I could be told what element of plot I'm missing (if that's even a term) I would appreciate immensely.

Thank you very much in advance!

IituRSI and cydney like this.
  2. cydney

cydney Banned

I don't know if it's an actual plot or not but it's a great analogy for how we have to learn to do good things for ourselves, do things that make us happy instead of doing the same old same old over and over again, and as Einstein would say, expecting different results.

Cave Troll likes this.
  3. SethLoki

SethLoki Retired Autodidact Contributor

Well there's a beginning and an end. But the bagel has no middle!

Really though it's hard to tell without seeing your flash fic. but as I know it events mark out 'plot' and you've mentioned a couple of them so it passes on that mark. Albeit a shallow one. More a short tale from which you've given a bit of space to draw meaning—A life with a rich centre is hollow whereas a life with a hollow centre is rich? :meh:

GNRoberts, Shadowfax and Cave Troll like this.
  4. IituRSI

IituRSI New Member

I like the idea. I can't tell whether it's a plot or not, but the idea is good and you should not throw it away. I'm pretty new to writing too, never actually finished anything

5. Sparrow Kuhn

Sparrow Kuhn Member