1. Slappydappy

Slappydappy New Member

About to go through my own Hero's Journey at work (ref. Joseph Campbell)

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Slappydappy, Apr 9, 2012.

I am a high school teacher and I have a student who is making my life hell. This student constantly complains to the principles about everything I do, says that I HATE them, that I have a hard class, that I am mean, that they've given up and it's my fault. They bring their parents into the drama as well. This kid does nothing but complain in class, disrupt, use foul language, etc. This student also told the principle that I party and drink alot, I come to work hammered, and I don't teach anything. By the way, this is the ONLY student who does this.

I have a great relationship with my other students, we have fun, and we learn. I don't know what this kid's problem is (outside of just having bad parenting), but it's wrecking my life. A counselor told me that news of this has spread to the rest of the administration. This kid is soiling my reputation and making me hate my job. I've had to write this student up many times and contact their parents, who even starting blaming me at one point. This student also tells other kids to do the same, to get their parents to complain about me.

So now it begins. I've realized I am now at a crossroads. I can't help but hate this kid. This student represents pretty much all the negative forces of the world. I believe their soul is lost. Never heard one positive thing out of their mouth, never seen them do anything good. But when I look at the Hero's Journey, I see now where I am.

Previously, I had been writing this person up and fighting against them. Stating that I am right and they are wrong. I can't do this anymore, I am losing. I have Refused the Call, and I finally realized this (standing in line at Wal-Mart, of all places). I have tried to avoid the problem using rules, logic, and force. To just make it go away, and it just keeps getting worse.