Tags:
  1. Sam Webb

Sam Webb Member

Font questions

Discussion in 'Revision and Editing' started by Sam Webb, May 8, 2017.

I am sure there have been plenty of threads made about fonts and which ones to use, but I'll start a new one. I am getting closer to the end of my book, and have two people proofreading and editing it for me as I finish the first draft. What I was wondering was which font I should be using. Right now I'm using the same font I'm writing this thread in (Book Antiqua) and I think it looks awesome. Just want to get a feel for what is used the most for someone who is going to self publish. I dont have the money to buy fonts, so I kinda have to use what I got or find free ones. Any suggestions?

2. QueenOfPlants

QueenOfPlants Definitely a hominid

IMHO Book Antiqua is good enough. It's a non-excentric serife font. Should be pretty standard.
    But I'm no professional, only a reader. ^ ^

Sam Webb likes this.
  3. Lew

Lew Contributor Contributor

I used garamonde because it was recommended in the CS template I downloaded. Worked out well

4. matwoolf

matwoolf Banned Contributor

Posted to 'The Fiction Desk' last night, or actually it failed 403 error something something HOWEVER...'those people' are still requesting Times New Roman 12 without exception. I thought maybe it was a British thing or an over-forties thing as I'd heard before that TNR was a little fuddy-duddy, but they're still insisting it's the mark of the professional blah blah blah. The sub page demanded TNR12/double-spaced/indented paragraphs/no spacing between paragraphs in Word - and you join 'the top 1% of submissions.'

5. big soft moose

big soft moose An Admoostrator Admin Staff Supporter Contributor Community Volunteer

I'm currently writing in Helvetica but only because it's default font in open office and i didnt bother to change it

6. QueenOfPlants

QueenOfPlants Definitely a hominid