1. psyence53

psyence53 New Member

Unable To Define A Genre...

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by psyence53, Oct 4, 2009.

I'll try to keep it short for once - I unofficially "gave up" on writing a few months back, but I keep thinking about it, and sometimes pop back here for a nose around, but feeling unworthy. I just can't seem to stop thinking about it. I'm a bit of a perfectionist, and that combined with never liking my ideas for being so mediocre and cliche.. doesn't help.

NOW.. well recently, I've had increasingly pressing thoughts of something broader. On the far end is Isaac Asimov sort of stuff, but i'm not technically minded.. and that is simply Sci-Fi, and I can just read all that sort of thing before even thinking about that one... What i'm thinking of now, I cannot define.

I haven't done any research yet, it's just been pressing on my mind. Sort of... conspiracy/political/space exploration/future of mankind sort of things... It's so vague I can't pinpoint anything as such, but wondered if anyone could help me on this. i know it's not much to go by, but if anyone else writes anything along these lines/knows any good books.

There's certain NON-fiction books on my list, and there's a book on ancient secret organisations in the library that catches my eye.. i'm just fascinated by certain histories, and possible futures, and want to write something thought-provoking that ISN'T just two people in a relationship.

My only sci-fi idea is still along those lame lines, about the line between human and artificial intelligence, racism, discrimination and what's right and wrong in combining human and machine, and social sides of human/machine relationships.. again Asimov... but ... it's not good enough for me.

I might add the most stimulating music for me is Muse (SUBJECT MATTER of relevance) and most stimulating film is 2001: A Space Odyssey... but also end-of-the-world things... and artificial intelligence of course.