1. C.F. Boehlke

C.F. Boehlke Member

C.F. Boehlke's Progress Journal

Discussion in 'Progress Journals' started by C.F. Boehlke, Jul 25, 2017.

I am new to this community and LOVE this progress journal feature! I have been working on the same novel for about 6 years, off and on, and I think that part of my problem has been a lack of accountability and tracking. I think this progress journal will be very helpful for me, even if no one views it other than myself.

I am writing a fantasy novel that currently sits at 59,802 words. I just picked it back up again a few days ago and unfortunately, I haven't made an outline. I think I am going to correct that soon. Every time I stop working on it for a while and then pick it back up, I have to reread everything and I find myself editing along the way, which slows down my progress towards finishing the first draft.

The novel is about a young woman named Laidy who ends up in a medically induced coma and discovers an alternate reality for the comatose, which is called Elsewhere. Her journey involves coming to terms with both her place in Elsewhere and the struggle awaiting her when she wakes up, as well as rising up against a villain that is out to destroy much of what makes Elsewhere so special.

I look forward to sharing my journey with this community and appreciate you all having me!

Dracon and Trish like this.
  2. Stormburn

Stormburn Contributor Contributor

I've found the progress journals to be one of my favorite part of the WF. Your novel sounds interesting. You say you're at roughly 60K, how close are you to finishing this draft?

3. C.F. Boehlke

C.F. Boehlke Member

Hi Stormburn,

Thank you! Well, now that I'm back at it, I hope to be done with the first draft within a month or two. I have a bit of character and plot development to figure out before I can proceed too much with writing, so that's my next task. I think it will end up being 80-90K words, and then the serious editing will begin.

4. C.F. Boehlke