1. LoraLee Kodzo

LoraLee Kodzo New Member

Can a burn victim blush?

Discussion in 'Research' started by LoraLee Kodzo, Aug 3, 2017.

Hello,
    I have a character that has scars on the left side of his face from severe burns, the right side of his face is fairly unaltered. Since I'm not a doctor, and I don't personally know anyone who has severe burns. I'm not sure if scar tissue maintains the surface-level blood vessels for a blush.... My question is this... If my character blushed, would it only appear on the side of his face without scars?
    THANKS

2. Trish

Trish Damned if I do and damned if I don't Contributor

I have only known one person who had severe burn scars on his face, but he definitely could still blush. I'm not sure if that is true for all, but it was for him.

3. The Dapper Hooligan

The Dapper Hooligan (V) ( ;,,;) (v) Contributor

It depends on the burn. There's what's known as full thickness and partial thickness burns. On partial thickness burns, like the name implies, only burn the first two layers of the skin. They can look bad, feel bad, and the deeper partial thickness burs can scar fairly bad as well. Full thickness burns completely burn through all layers of skin, nerves, blood vessels, sweat glands, all of it. As a general rule, I'd say partial burn victims probably wouldn't have a problem. Full burn victims, however, probably wouldn't considering they wouldn't have working nerves, proper capillaries or the muscles in the scar tissue that allow for traditional blushing. I'm sure the area could redden in some way under some circumstances, but not exactly blushing how we think of blushing.

Fernando.C likes this.
  4. LoraLee Kodzo

LoraLee Kodzo New Member

T
    THANKS for your reply

5. LoraLee Kodzo

LoraLee Kodzo New Member

Dapper Hooligan... This character has lost eyebrows and has smooth scars for over 15 months, some skin graphs etc.

6. Trish

You're welcome.